IMPORTANT CHAT UPDATE:
♥ Please clear your cache, cookies, and/or history to refresh the chat if it isn’t loading for you. We have pushed some updates to fix bugs.
New, inexperienced, and recently discovered adult babies, regressors, littles, and Caregivers ask for perspectives, advice, tips, and information from more knowledgeable friends.
Forum rules: 
► Show more details
So I am very new to experiencing little space...
I am wondering if having an anxiety attack or something similar that can be very stressful can trigger the first shift into Little Space? I think I had my first shift a few days ago and I am just really confused by all of it.
Any help or advice is greatly appreciated
Stress can absolutely cause emotional responses and mood changes. When faced with something stressful it isn’t unusual to express yourself how you feel most comfortable. Some people may even retreat into that feeling of safety in expression in effort to escape the stress entirely.

So, anxiety means stress. Expressing yourself similarly to that as a child may give you some level of comfort. It wouldn’t be strange to react to stress in a childlike manner of outright retreat into feeling very childlike for some time in effort to manage the stress. Regression can be used as a tool to provide a more comfortable atmosphere while you actively work through a stressor.

While there’s nothing wrong with changing your methods of self-expression to more comfortably communicate or manage your current feelings, there can be an issue in avoidance. Avoidance may begin only sporadically but can quickly get out of control, leading to avoiding all conflict, stressors, and other important stressors that should be faced. Ultimately, retreating into regression is not a safe, reliable way of coping with anxiety, depression, or other mental health concerns. Allowing yourself to do so may cause more problems to be faced with later.